If you’re a BAMS graduate seeking to specialize in Ayurveda at the postgraduate level, understanding the eligibility criteria for MD/MS admission in 2024 is crucial. Here’s what you need to know:

MD vs. MS in Ayurveda

  • MD (Ayurveda): Focuses on the medical aspects of Ayurveda, deepening your knowledge of Ayurvedic principles, philosophy, diagnostics, and treatments.
  • MS (Ayurveda): Emphasizes the surgical aspects of Ayurveda, providing expertise in areas like Shalya Tantra (Ayurvedic surgery) and Shalakya Tantra (treatment of diseases above the clavicle).

Eligibility Criteria for MD/MS Ayurveda (2024)

  • BAMS Qualification: You must hold a Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery (BAMS) degree from a recognized university or an institution deemed to be a university.
  • Internship Completion: You must have completed, or be likely to complete, a one-year compulsory rotating internship by the relevant cutoff date (typically October 31st, 2024).
  • Registration: Your BAMS qualification must be permanently or provisionally registered with the Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM) or a State Board/Council/University.
  • NEET PG Ayurveda: You need to qualify for the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Postgraduate Courses – Ayurveda (NEET PG Ayurveda).

Branches of Specialization

MD/MS Ayurveda offers specialization in various branches including:

  • Agad Tantra (Medical Jurisprudence & Toxicology)
    Bala Roga (Pediatrics)
  • Dravya Guna (Materia Medica & Pharmacology)
  • Kayachikitsa (Internal Medicine)
  • Maulika Siddhanta (Fundamental Principles)
  • Panchakarma (Penta Bio-Purification Methods)
  • Prasuti Stri Roga (Gynaecology & Obstetrics)
  • Roga & Vikriti Vijnana (Clinical Medicine & Pathology)
  • Rasa Shastra & Bhaishajya Kalpana Iatro-Chemistry (Rasa Chikitsa)
  • Sharira Rachana (Anatomy)
  • Sharira Kriya (Physiology)
  • Shalya Tantra (Surgery)
  • Shalakya Tantra (ENT & Ophthalmology)
  • Swasthya Vritta (Preventive & Social Medicine)
  • Asthi Rog (Orthopedics)

Admission Process

  1. NEET PG Ayurveda: Qualifying for the NEET PG Ayurveda exam is mandatory.
  2. AIAPGET Counseling: Participate in the All India AYUSH Post Graduate Entrance Test. This counselling is conducted by the Ministry of AYUSH for admission into All India Quota/Central University seats and some State Quota seats.
  3. State-Level Counseling: Some states have their own counselling processes for the remaining state quota seats.

Important Resources:

  • Ministry of AYUSH: [invalid URL removed]
  • AIAPGET: Information will be released closer to 2024 on the NTA website.

Key Points to Note

  • Eligibility criteria and admission processes can slightly vary between institutions and states.
  • Stay updated on the latest announcements regarding AIAPGET 2024 and state-level counselling processes.

Start Your MD/MS Ayurveda Journey

Embarking on an MD/MS Ayurveda program is a significant step towards advancing your knowledge and expertise in this ancient healing tradition. Begin preparing early, focus on qualifying for NEET PG Ayurveda, and diligently monitor admission announcements.

Please Note: Always refer to official government websites and specific college websites for the most accurate and up-to-date information.